Love of My Life

Once I loved Boy #1, but he didn’t love me back… or not enough.  I thought I’d never find anyone else like him.  Then I did.  And I loved this Boy #2, but he didn’t love me back… or not enough.

Then I met someone who wasn’t like either one of those boys.  We didn’t enjoy the same pastimes.  We didn’t have much of anything in common, as far as likes and dislikes.  I love to read… him, not so much.  I love going to the movies… he’d just as soon not.  He loved the outdoors and camping… my idea of roughing it is Motel 6 (there’s no air conditioning outside!).  But he turned out to be the love of my life.

That was almost 21 years ago, and we’ve been married for 20 of them.  How is it that two people who have such completely different tastes (even peanut butter – I like creamy, he likes crunchy!) have come together and are more in love now than ever?

Well, I’ve studied on that for a while.  I still can’t completely explain it.   But being exactly alike isn’t all it’s cracked up to be.   And I think it’s more what we ARE than what we LIKE.

And after 20 years, we are not as different as we used to be.  I’ve learned to love the outdoors more, and he will go to the movies with me and even enjoy them; and he enjoys having a book to read when he has to eat lunch alone.  For the pastimes we don’t both enjoy, we give each other the space to enjoy them individually.    And here’s the thing:  I’m CRAZY about him!

It’s an even bigger mystery to me how we managed to find each other.  The only explanation I can come up with is that God just put us together and said, “Here.  THIS one.”  And I was finally smart enough to smack my forehead and say, “OOOOOHHHH!  THIS one!”  (Thanks, God!!)

Sometime I’ll post the story of how we finally did get together.  It’s a good one!

About amyenoch

My name is Amy Enoch. I have been married for 25 years to the love of my life. I have two daughters, ages 19 and 16. I live in the Dallas area. Mostly I am a stay-at-home mom, but I do work part-time in an office job, and I do some contract work from home when it is available. I'll update this as I think of stuff that might be pertinent!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Love of My Life

  1. Traci K says:

    I remember Boy #1 and Boy #2. I’m glad Boy #3 was the one.

    I love that you’re doing this.

  2. amyenoch says:

    Yeah, there were actually quite a few boys, but only 2 Boys. Then LOML (Love of My Life). 🙂

  3. NJM says:

    I was about to say the same thing Traci said. I thank God for your wonderful MAN #1. (Interesting confirmation by Paul Tournier: “Marriage is a maturing process.”) NJM

Leave a Reply

