Kids Growing Up

My older daughter will be in high school next year.  My younger daughter, my baby, will be in middle school next year.

How did this happen??  Didn’t they just learn how to walk, like, last week??

It’s hard not to panic when your little ones grow into big kids in what seems like just a few weeks’ time.  You want to hold on to them at THIS age, and they insist on going on to the next one.  And the one after that.

I have a friend whose youngest (of four) will start Kindergarten next year, and she is feeling the panic, too.  She asked me how I was handling my own kids’ school milestones.  And in answering her, I found some answers for myself.

I like my kids.  That’s the main answer.  I’ve liked them at all their different ages as they’ve grown, and each age has brought blessings in our relationship with each other.  This is an exciting time of transition for them, and they are growing up… and that’s kind of fun!  I can enjoy them now as older kids the way I enjoyed them when they were babies and then little children.  Their senses of humor have developed some sophistication so that they can understand and enjoy more subtle humor.  And, oh, they both have a wicked sense of humor!

I do miss having a baby in my life.  But there are ways to enjoy babies without having one of my own.  I have a new little baby nephew that I was blessed to be able to rock to sleep the other day.  There are babies at church I can love.  And there are two precious little girls that live next door to me who are always up for a big hug and kiss.

So, that’s my answer.  Enjoy the blessing of the age your kids are right now.  And then enjoy the next age.  Oh, there will indeed be challenges and drama and a need for discipline.  But I will try to focus more on the joy.  And I will enjoy the little kiddos around me.

Then, someday, there will be grandchildren!

About amyenoch

My name is Amy Enoch. I have been married for 25 years to the love of my life. I have two daughters, ages 19 and 16. I live in the Dallas area. Mostly I am a stay-at-home mom, but I do work part-time in an office job, and I do some contract work from home when it is available. I'll update this as I think of stuff that might be pertinent!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

