Romance

My LOML and I have a long-standing joke where he signs his full name (including his middle initial) when he gives me a card.  More lately, we have several “pet” names for each other that combine humor with affection, and these are the names we use on cards to and from each other.  (I won’t tell/explain all of them, but one of mine is “Slam” because I used to answer the phone at my job, “Sea-Land, Amy Mercer.”)  This is all kind of off the point I’m wanting to make today, but it’s some background information.

So, a couple of days ago, I sat down to look at my email, and I had one from him.  It said:

Dear Amy,

You are pretty,

[LOML’s full name]

You know, there is a misconception out there that we women have to have flowers and jewelry and wining and dining to feel like we are being romanced.  Or that we have to dress up and put on makeup and perfume to be romantic.   And those things definitely are romantic, it’s true.  I’m a big proponent of date night, especially for parents of young children.

But sometimes romance is as simple as an out-of-the-blue email that says, “You are pretty,” and nothing else.   Or sharing his croutons with you when he gets a salad and you don’t.  Or a quick stolen kiss when you pass in the hall on the way to do laundry.  Better yet, when HE does a load of laundry for you.  Or when you share silly nicknames that only the two of you understand.

My LOML may not look like a romantic on the surface, but he, by golly, is one.  It’s only one of the many reasons he’s the Love of My Life.

About amyenoch

My name is Amy Enoch. I have been married for 25 years to the love of my life. I have two daughters, ages 19 and 16. I live in the Dallas area. Mostly I am a stay-at-home mom, but I do work part-time in an office job, and I do some contract work from home when it is available. I'll update this as I think of stuff that might be pertinent!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

