Top Ten Ways to Know You Grew Up in the Church of Christ

(With apologies to those of you who didn’t.)

#10.  The main reason you went to VBS was the cookies.

#9.   You sight-read shape notes.

#8.  You know what song #238B is.

#7.   You don’t dance and you don’t chew and you don’t go with girls/guys who do.

#6.  Command, example, necessary inference.  ‘Nuff said.    [Editor’s note:  That sound you hear is my head thunking the wall repeatedly.]

#5.  You know exactly what’s coming next when someone says, “Separate and apart…”

#4.   Your school choir director loved having you in his/her class because you knew how to sing a capella.

#3.   “…as we stand and sing…”

#2.   “Guide, guard, and direct us…”

And the #1 reason you can tell you grew up in the Church of Christ:

#1.  You know the first, second and fourth verse of every song in the song book by heart, but not the third.

About amyenoch

My name is Amy Enoch. I have been married for 25 years to the love of my life. I have two daughters, ages 19 and 16. I live in the Dallas area. Mostly I am a stay-at-home mom, but I do work part-time in an office job, and I do some contract work from home when it is available. I'll update this as I think of stuff that might be pertinent!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Top Ten Ways to Know You Grew Up in the Church of Christ

  1. Traci K says:

    And 728B !!! [I think that’s right – I’ve been gone a while.]

    These are ALL so true. I still freak out whenever verse 3 gets sung – I just mumble.

  2. NJM says:

    And….
    You can quote Acts 2:38 in your sleep.
    You can sing the names of the apostles.

  3. David says:

    Guide, Guard, and Direct–weren’t they the three brothers who wandered in the desert?

  4. amyenoch says:

    Ooooh, that reminds me of another song – “Once there were three wandering Jews….”

  5. Russell Johnson says:

    Guide, guard and direct. Classic. I was at a family reunion on Kristi’s side a while back and the guy leading the lunch prayer said that. I pegged him as c of c. I was right.

    Is “bless this food to the nourishment of our bodies” a c of c thing, or a larger Protestant thing? I think the latter.

Leave a Reply

