Here, Kitty, Kitty!

I have never been a cat lover.  I’ve always found cats to be obnoxious, snotty, and completely inappropriate for a pet.

So… how is it that I now not only own a cat, but love it to a ridiculous degree?  Well, it’s a story.

My kids have bugged me for years to get either a cat or a dog.  As the primary caretaker for any pet we end up with, I have not been enthusiastic about the idea of either animal, but especially not cats.  No.  No cats.  We will never own a cat.  Over my dead body.  NO CATS.

And, as He so often does when we say “never”, God laughed at me.

We moved about a year and a half ago to a much less urban area.  Not exactly suburban, but not exactly rural… somewhere in between, I guess.  It’s a lovely area and a nice neighborhood.  The kids walk to the corner to catch the school bus.

A stray cat followed my youngest home from the bus one day.  I suspect there was some petting and encouragement along the way.  For a few days, the kitty would stand on the other side of my screen door and mew in this extremely sad little voice, lifting one paw pathetically (and manipulatively).  And you know that Love of My Life that I’ve bragged about for the last several posts?  Guess what he did?  He FED the cat.  (“You did WHAT??”)

A trip to the vet and $300 of vaccinations later, we now own a cat.

And guess what?  She is a beauty!  And she is SO sweet.  She is almost no trouble at all.  She has a ton of fun personality.  I had no idea cats had so many different “meows” and facial expressions to go with them.  She has one for “I’m hungry”, one for “I’m lonely”, one for “I’m bored”.  She only bats her paw at you if she doesn’t want attention – she doesn’t scratch or bite.  If she does extend her claws or open her mouth, she doesn’t use them to the point of breaking the skin.    My youngest is in charge of feeding her and cleaning the litter box, and has an amazing bond with her.  She was allowed to name the cat (Savannah), and has the main responsibility of her care.

You do have to kind of “ask permission” to pet her, by holding the back of your hand to her nose.  If she “extends her scepter” by touching her nose to you, you can pet her without consequence.  Most of the time she’s up for being petted.  If she draws away or shrugs you off, you pet her at your own risk.

The other day a visitor went to pet her, and she just gently pushed the visitor’s hand away with her paw, like:  “Okay, I can see you’re uneducated on the proper approach to me, so I’m giving you a gentle warning.”

Somehow I’ve grown to really love this little kitty.  Somehow, “over my dead body” has turned in to “Okay, just this once!”  I am trying never to say never, because I really don’t want a pet raccoon or snake.

About amyenoch

My name is Amy Enoch. I have been married for 25 years to the love of my life. I have two daughters, ages 19 and 16. I live in the Dallas area. Mostly I am a stay-at-home mom, but I do work part-time in an office job, and I do some contract work from home when it is available. I'll update this as I think of stuff that might be pertinent!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Here, Kitty, Kitty!

  1. NJM says:

    Well, by George, she is a pretty cat.

  2. David says:

    We have a cat, too, and it’s about as worthless a creature as you could hope to find. But she’s pretty and the boys love her. She’s helped them get through the loneliness of two moves, so she can stay as long as she lives. But not one second more.

Leave a Reply

