Love at… 400th or so… Sight

So, I promised that sometime I’d tell the story of how LOML and I got together.  Haven’t posted in a while, so I thought I’d tell it now.

I moved to Dallas in May 1989.  The man I’d worked for in Waco for the previous year had accepted a job here and, within a couple of weeks, called to offer me a job working with him.  I jumped at the chance, because… well, basically, there wasn’t much left for me in Waco any more.   And this boss had treated me really well and I was crazy about him.  So, within 2 weeks, I left my hometown and moved my butt to Dallas.

One of the first orders of business was to find a church home.  There were a few on my radar, and I visited around for several weeks.  My sister and her family moved here from Topeka around the same time (that’s yet another story), and they had heard of a church nearby that they thought was a good fit for them.  It worked for me, too, and it was a big draw that they were there.

I set about jumping into the singles group at this church.  It was a pretty big group – very active, very friendly – and they welcomed me and made sure I was aware of all the activities.

The first Sunday I went to the Singles Bible Class, one of the guys stood up to make announcements.  I could tell right away that he was not very comfortable with the job, but that he was dutiful to take care of it, because it needed doing.  This was my first sight of LOML.  A very good guy, really quiet.

He asked me out a couple of times, and I’ll confess that I just thought he was too boring, and so I turned him down.   Having just gotten out of a rotten relationship, I didn’t feel like having to carry both sides of a conversation with someone new.  After asking twice, he gave up.

Over the next few months, I got to be friends with this man.  Our church had two morning services, and he and I were the only two singles who came to first service, so we always sat together.  I think a lot of people thought we were dating long before we ever were!

At one of the Singles’ devotionals, it was announced that a group was getting together to go to a Michael W. Smith concert.  A count was taken to see who was going and how many tickets we needed.  I raised my hand and so did LOML.  The concert was going to be in Ft. Worth.

I decided I didn’t want to make the drive, so I called LOML to see if I could ride with him.  He told me he’d given up his ticket to someone else and wasn’t going.  So I figured I’d get a ride with someone else.  We were all meeting at a diner close to the church building for supper before the concert.  While we were sitting there, LOML showed up – someone had called him and told him there was an extra ticket, so he’d decided to come after all.  I didn’t realize how disappointed I’d been that he wasn’t going until I saw him drive up.  He came into the restaurant, slid into the booth next to me, put his head on my shoulder, and said, “I’m tired!”

Wham!

I couldn’t exactly call it Love At First Sight, because we’d known each other for several months by that time.  But that was the moment that I realized this was the guy for me.  How had I not seen it before??

There’s more to this story about how we ended up together.  I think I’ll finish it in a later post, just to keep everyone in suspense!

About amyenoch

My name is Amy Enoch. I have been married for 25 years to the love of my life. I have two daughters, ages 19 and 16. I live in the Dallas area. Mostly I am a stay-at-home mom, but I do work part-time in an office job, and I do some contract work from home when it is available. I'll update this as I think of stuff that might be pertinent!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Love at… 400th or so… Sight

  1. Shannon says:

    I LOVE this! Little chills bumps. Just sayin’. 😉

    I didn’t realize how disappointed I’d been that he wasn’t going until I saw him drive up. He came into the restaurant, slid into the booth next to me, put his head on my shoulder, and said, “I’m tired!”

    Wham!

    I couldn’t exactly call it Love At First Sight, because we’d known each other for several months by that time. But that was the moment that I realized this was the guy for me. How had I not seen it before??

  2. Karen says:

    I liked the part Shannon liked, that you didn’t know how disappointed you were until he showed up. 🙂 Waiting for the next installment…

Leave a Reply

