An Amazing Experience

My mom challenged me to try to write about something that happened to me a couple of days ago.  I don’t know if I can do it justice in writing.  Try to use your imagination to picture this story, because it was truly a most amazing experience for me.

I had gone to the gym to work out, so I was dressed in workout clothes and was all sweaty.  I went across the street to Wal-Mart afterward to pick up a few things.  I had just gotten there and was rolling my cart up the main aisle when this man approached me.

Now, let me describe this man.  He was maybe 70, an older Spanish gentleman, fairly nice looking – sort of an older Desi Arnez type.  But he sounded more like Ricardo Montalban.

So this man came up to me and said (now, imagine this in Ricardo Montalban’s voice): “I saw you from far away and you were so beautiful!  And now I am close up to you, and you are spectacular!”

Well, I stood there blinking, with my mouth hanging open.  I think I said, “Thank you.”  Then he said (remember, Ricardo Montalban voice):  “Are you married?”  I replied that I was, and he said, “Ach!  Well, you have a wonderful week!”  I said thank you again, and he said, “You are welcome!”  And then, just like that, he was gone.

I continued shopping in a bit of a daze, blinking, with my mouth hanging open.  I didn’t see him again the whole time I was there.  He didn’t try to follow me or keep talking or anything.  It could very easily have turned creepy, but it didn’t.  It was as if this Spanish angel dropped down out of heaven and then flew away after delivering his message!

Now, maybe 20 years ago, this wouldn’t have surprised me so much.  But that was 20 years, a good 30 pounds, and 2 children ago.  It was the most amazing experience, and I truly don’t know what to make of it.  But nothing has happened to me in a very long time that has made me feel this good.  So I’m just going to enjoy it.

Okay, disclaimer:  This is not a bid for more compliments.  I just wanted to share this wonderful, amazing experience.  Did I mention it was amazing?

About amyenoch

My name is Amy Enoch. I have been married for 25 years to the love of my life. I have two daughters, ages 19 and 16. I live in the Dallas area. Mostly I am a stay-at-home mom, but I do work part-time in an office job, and I do some contract work from home when it is available. I'll update this as I think of stuff that might be pertinent!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to An Amazing Experience

  1. Traci K says:

    You should always listen to your mother. She’s the one who taught you how to accept a comment gracefully instead of arguing (which most of us do naturally).

    I’ll bet what that man saw was a woman who looked at peace with herself and most of the world, who has lived through some experiences that in 70 years he would relate to, who has a lovely smile, and it just touched some part of him. And his momma taught him how to GIVE a compliment. 🙂

    You go, girl. Ride that wave as long as you can.

  2. David says:

    That is so amazing! The very same thing happened to me last week. Sounds like the same guy and everything. What are the odds?

    • amyenoch says:

      Oh, the odds aren’t THAT high, because clearly you are as beautiful and spectacular as I am.

      • David says:

        I’m so glad you said that. I wouldn’t have dared because of my incredible modesty.

        BTW, I’m not at all surprised that this happened to you.

  3. amyenoch says:

    Aw, thanks, big brother.

  4. PAULA says:

    I love this story….actually the same thing happened to me yesterday at QT. I was getting into my van after getting coffee and when I went to close the door there was this Spanish man about in his 40’s he said that that I was a very beautiful woman and I said thank you and he walked away! What a great start to a Monday morning! 🙂 I am going to remember that feeling for a very long time!!

Leave a Reply

