Sin and Death Shall Not Prevail

You know what?  I’m mad.

Okay, sad, too, but I think mostly mad.

I’m mad at death and mad at sin.

The reason we have death in the world is because our universe is broken.  Ever since the first sin, the universe has been groaning from the weight of it.  Because of sin, we have migraines, strep, tummy viruses, the flu, broken arms, heart attacks, AIDS, arthritis, depression and cancer.  And death.

Make no mistake: death is the enemy.  Sometimes, death can be welcome, after a long, hard illness or at the end of a long, productive life.  But death was never the original plan.  Even Jesus wept at death, even knowing He was about to raise his friend from death.

It would be easy to throw all the blame at Adam and Eve.  But, admit it, any of us probably would have done the same as they, especially with the Deceiver egging us on.  “Oh, no, you will NOT surely die!  You will be as wise as God!”

The older I get, the more people I care about are dying.  That’s only going to get worse as I get older (unless Jesus returns in the meantime… which, oh, yes, Lord, please do!).  And I’m just so sad, and angry.

I won’t enumerate all the people in my life who have died that I am thinking of today.  But I want to mention my friend Teresa, a lovely, vibrant, alive young woman, a Zumba instructor with ridiculous amounts of energy, an oncology nurse who loved and nurtured many women through the horrors of breast cancer.  And like a puff of smoke, she is now gone.  A brain stem aneurism.  It’s just so wrong.  It doesn’t compute – I can’t seem to process it.

There is good news.  Jesus came to conquer death, and through Him, death will come to an end one day.  He takes the sting from death, and promises to wipe away all tears.  I am grateful that death isn’t the end, that Jesus is the Alpha and the Omega.

And, hopefully, He can help mitigate my sadness and anger today with that promise.  Come, Lord Jesus.  Please come soon.

About amyenoch

My name is Amy Enoch. I have been married for 25 years to the love of my life. I have two daughters, ages 19 and 16. I live in the Dallas area. Mostly I am a stay-at-home mom, but I do work part-time in an office job, and I do some contract work from home when it is available. I'll update this as I think of stuff that might be pertinent!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

