Who wants to hear a God-has-a-sense-of-humor story?

Things have been a little tight for us financially.  Don’t get me wrong, we’re fine.  But we’ve had to use up a lot of our cushion the last couple of months – braces for one kid and a new air conditioner for the in-laws’ house.  And business is slow for my home business right now, so nothing much is coming in on that front.

So, anyway, I was praying about it.  Mainly just, you know, could I please get some work in?  I completely trust God to take care of us, he always has.  But my mind would rest a little easier if I had some work.

Later on, I was cleaning out my purse (an embarrassingly big job).  And, as you know if you follow my Facebook posts, I ran across a couple of Wal-Mart gift cards in my wallet.  Figuring they probably had, like, 16 cents on them, I nearly threw them away.  But at the last minute I thought I would go ahead and get online and check their balances.  One of them had $70 on it, and the other had $6 on it.  What??  No idea where they came from.  One of them had “Happy Birthday” on it, with an original balance of $20.  This is the one that had $70.  What??

So, here’s the conversation:

Me: God, I trust you, but would you please send me some work so I won’t worry so much?
God: Quit worrying, I got this.  Go clean out your purse or something.

About amyenoch

My name is Amy Enoch. I have been married for 25 years to the love of my life. I have two daughters, ages 19 and 16. I live in the Dallas area. Mostly I am a stay-at-home mom, but I do work part-time in an office job, and I do some contract work from home when it is available. I'll update this as I think of stuff that might be pertinent!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

