Singing to Fight Depression

This time of year is traditionally when my depression becomes more difficult to handle.  I usually have a tougher battle with depression from August to the end of the year.  Last year was a blessed aberration: I didn’t do anything special to fight it; it just didn’t show up.  For which I was intensely grateful.

I don’t know which way the wind will blow this year, but I have found myself fighting the beginnings of melancholy this month.

So I’m trying an experiment.  I noticed several years ago that, for me, singing has a way of mitigating depression.  But not just any singing.  This is a little embarrassing, but here’s what I do:  I sing in the shower.  Loudly.  With loud, head-banging favorite music playing on my MP3 player.

I don’t always feel like doing this.  But this year, as I said, I’m going to experiment with the phenomenon.  I am committing to myself that every night when I take my shower, I’m going to turn on my favorites and sing along loudly, whether I feel like it or not.

Now, it’s important to make sure no one in the house is trying to sleep.  I’m telling you… it has to be loud.  So if circumstances prevent me from doing this because it’s too late and others are sleeping, I get a pass for that night.

But for the majority of the time, it is my plan.

Now, I’ve also noticed the type of music is important.  Slow, sad ballads will not do.  And I’m sorry, but religious music will not do either.  It has to be strong, upbeat and raucous.

Here is a sample list of the music I’m talking about:

Boogie Fever – The Sylvers
China Grove – Doobie Brothers
Come Sail Away – Styx
Don’t Bring Me Down – ELO
Cowboy Casanova – Carrie Underwood
Heartbreaker – Pat Benatar
Mony Mony – Billy Idol
Lady – Lenny Kravitz
Mockingbird – James Taylor and Carly Simon
The Other Side – Aerosmith
Saturday Night’s Alright for Fighting – Elton John
Mercy – Duffy
Her Strut – Bob Seger
Rocky Mountain Way – Joe Walsh
Waterloo – Abba
Rock of Ages – Def Leppard

As you can see, it’s an eclectic list.  There are more, but you get the idea (I hope).

I’ll let you know how it goes.

 

 

 

 

About amyenoch

My name is Amy Enoch. I have been married for 25 years to the love of my life. I have two daughters, ages 19 and 16. I live in the Dallas area. Mostly I am a stay-at-home mom, but I do work part-time in an office job, and I do some contract work from home when it is available. I'll update this as I think of stuff that might be pertinent!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

