Sisters – The Next Generation

I’ve talked a lot about my sister Mary, and what our relationship was like early on, then as adults.  She was an incredible person, and my relationship with her, and the way I lost her way too early, was a lesson to me in how important our siblings are.  Especially sisters.

Well, now I want to talk about my two daughters, sisters of the next generation.  My older daughter is named Mary, for my sister.  My younger daughter is Leah.  They are 16 and 14, respectively.

Yesterday, after a couple of days of serious pain, Mary was diagnosed with kidney stones. She’s going to be all right, but is facing a few tough days.

Yesterday morning, she was hurting badly and waiting for me to come home to take her to the doctor.  Leah was getting ready for school, and she had Mary come lie down in her, Leah’s, bed so Leah could keep her distracted.

Today, after a long day of waiting for doctors and pharmacies to get their acts together, Mary was lying on the couch, hurting badly.  I gave her a pain pill and sat with her for a while, telling stories to distract her.  Then I needed to go take care of some things (like letting the family know the latest news), and Leah came in and sat with her – without being asked – and talked and laughed with her, keeping her company and keeping her occupied while we waited for the pain to abate.

My two girls most definitely have their moments of being at each others’ throats.  They know how to push each others’ buttons, and do so regularly.  That IS what sisters do, especially teenage sisters (though they’ve been doing it since birth).  But those two girls love each other deeply, and know the value of having each other as sisters.

I especially want to give Leah a shout-out, because Mary is getting the lion’s share of attention right now, and Leah not only does not resent it, but is actively helping take care of Mary.  She is being so incredibly sweet, and I’m so incredibly proud of her.

Sisters have a special bond that is difficult to explain to men.  Sometimes there is simply no one else who will do.  There are exceptions, of course, and that is sad.  But I was blessed to have that special bond with my sister Mary.  Knowing that my two girls have it, too, gives me a lot of joy.

About amyenoch

My name is Amy Enoch. I have been married for 25 years to the love of my life. I have two daughters, ages 19 and 16. I live in the Dallas area. Mostly I am a stay-at-home mom, but I do work part-time in an office job, and I do some contract work from home when it is available. I'll update this as I think of stuff that might be pertinent!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sisters – The Next Generation

  1. PAM ENOCH says:

    I had NO idea Mary was sick! I am so unplugged I guess i need to check fb more often, she will be in our prayers! This was so special to read sisters are the best and those two know it! Love you guys and love those girls please give Mary a hug from her Auntie Pam and Wyatt.

Leave a Reply

