Denton ISD – You Rock!

I would like to give shout-outs to some very special, wonderful people: the teachers, counselors, and administration of Denton ISD.

My older daughter, Mary, has been struggling with illness for the last two or three months. She missed a bunch of school, and eventually we had to put her on homebound education.  By the grace of God, and with the help of these wonderful people, and with sheer grit and determination, Mary has completely finished all of the school work needed to complete this school year.  I want to publicly recognize some people:

First and foremost, her teachers:
Shanna Hardesty
Karen Reidy
Stephanie Garcia
Loretta McDonald
Cindy Hess
Shannon Campbell
Christi Spindle

These talented educators went waaaaay out of their ways to help Mary with the goal of completing this year without having to repeat anything. They worked with her individually, talked to her on the phone, and showed amazing flexibility while still staying true to the goal of educating. I am incredibly grateful to them.

Mary’s homebound teacher, Maria Harris, and the DISD homebound coordinator, Barb Haflich, were unfailingly kind, and helped us navigate the homebound process with compassion and skill.

Angela Tate, attendance…guru?… was also very compassionate and willing to go the extra mile for Mary.

Nicole Dampman, guidance counselor, was likewise wonderful. She helped us shape the goals for Mary’s school work, while at the same time insisting that Mary’s health was the most important priority. Plus, she has bobbleheads of all the Big Bang Theory characters in her office, which I find utterly awesome!

While I’m on the subject, I also want to give a quick shout-out to the nice folks at TWU who helped me navigate dual credit issues. Especially one Corey Green, who made me cry when he told me, so kindly, “I don’t want you to stress about this, okay?”

So, to all these folks, and any others behind the scenes, Mary and her dad and I thank you. We could not be more pleased to be in this school district, filled with folks who truly want to see kids succeed, even (maybe especially) when they have difficulties that have nothing to do with their intellect. You are a blessing to us.

God bless you all abundantly.

 

 

About amyenoch

My name is Amy Enoch. I have been married for 25 years to the love of my life. I have two daughters, ages 19 and 16. I live in the Dallas area. Mostly I am a stay-at-home mom, but I do work part-time in an office job, and I do some contract work from home when it is available. I'll update this as I think of stuff that might be pertinent!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Denton ISD – You Rock!

  1. Mark Mercer says:

    Interestingly, last night (Sunday) I was in the kitchen thinking about this situation. And it suddenly occurred to me, “Good gosh, there must be some amazingly dedicated, caring, and flexible people at that Denton school district to make all this work out. How many people were involved? What all did they have to do? How much extra mile coordination did this require?” Now I know. The whole family is grateful for what these folks did for my niece. –Mark

Leave a Reply

