Generosity

I just have to brag a little on my two sweet girls.  They both have such incredibly generous hearts. 

Today in the pre-op room we were saying goodbye to Mary, and I gave her a long hug, and she said, “I’ll be okay, Mama.” – comforting ME.  Then in post-op, when she was still too groggy to talk, she took note of a baby in another cubicle who was crying loudly and pitifully, and she looked at me, inclined her head toward the baby, and stuck her bottom lip out sympathetically. 

Then, after we got home and Mary was lying miserably in her bed, Leah sat with her and rubbed her back for a long time.  Then, while discussing how we would handle things through the night, Leah said, “Just wake me up if you need anything.”  Now, Mary is reading in bed, and Leah is sitting in there with her reading a magazine, keeping her company, and running and fetching for her.  All of this without being asked. 

I’ve spent some time over the last week or so thinking about how selfish I am about so many little things, even just in my head, and trying to do better about it.  And I look at my sweet girls and wonder where they got their incredibly generous spirits.  I don’t think it’s something we’ve necessarily taught them, consciously or otherwise, and I think it must just be a straight-up gift from God. If anything, they are teaching me. 

So, tonight, as we all recover from a long day, and look forward hopefully to better times, I am grateful for my girls and their sweet hearts.  I am grateful to God for several answered prayers today.  And I am humbled, awed, and somewhat chastened by the generosity of the spirits of these two teenage girls.

About amyenoch

My name is Amy Enoch. I have been married for 25 years to the love of my life. I have two daughters, ages 19 and 16. I live in the Dallas area. Mostly I am a stay-at-home mom, but I do work part-time in an office job, and I do some contract work from home when it is available. I'll update this as I think of stuff that might be pertinent!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Generosity

  1. Mary Bell says:

    Love you Mama. You and Daddy really have taught me a lot about generosity in various areas.

  2. David says:

    They r indeed n two beautiful daughters and u have every reason to be proud. The only thing I disagree with is your statement about your being selfish. I strenuously object.

  3. amyenoch says:

    Aw, thanks. I’ve really just been examining my attitude, about small things mainly, but small things add up.

Leave a Reply

